Русская версия страницы   English page version Flint Incorporation English page version   Русская версия страницы   
Main page
News
Programs
About
Contacts

Icon Pack for Total Commander XPStyle

Screenshot

Total Commander allows to change its appearance by means of additional icon libraries. This file manager is suited for work in all Windows versions beginning from Win95, that's why up to versions 6.5x it contained only 16-color icons. They are displayed correctly in all Windows versions, but with interface of modern operating systems they look unpresentable. (Beginning with the version 7, TC is shipped with updated multi-colored icons.) The package XPStyle contains the library of the icons taken from Windows XP and adapted for use in Total Commander.

The package consists of two files: the ICL library that contains the icons for displaying different files and folders, and DLL file with pictures used for drive buttons. All the icons in the ICL file are 32-bit ones with transparency alpha channel. This gives high-quality images on every background, but icons with alpha channel are supported only in the latest Windows versions: XP and newer. In all previous versions there will be present a thick black region aroung the image instead of transparent shadow.

Of course, I'm not the first who invented the idea, there were already several XP-styled libraries. But all of them had, in my opinion, various shortcomings. Some of the libraries contained only images with size 16x16, so it's nearly impossible to work in mode 32x32 (some icons are stretched to this size and therefore look ugly, some icons are not displayed at all). In the other ones the icons were edited very inaccurately and that caused appearance of "denticles" or black border around the pictures. Several libraries just have poorly selected icons, which do not correspond to the general design or to entities they should identify. (Though again, this is my private opinion. Tastes differ, and many people use those libraries and are quite satisfied.) That's why I decided to create my own set of icons that corresponds my own wishes and tastes. The basis, of course, is the original Windows XP set of icons — some of them were leaved untouched, the others were edited a little.

According to numerous requests, the pack XPStyle TC is also available, which differs from XPStyle only in the main icon: it is left standard TC blue-red floppy icon. There were many users who liked the icon pack in general, but could not get used to my blue sphere main icon: it appeared to be too unusual.

Pack Version Size Download
XPStyle 1.0 26 990 bytes Download
XPStyle TC 1.0 18 596 bytes Download

Русская версия страницы   English page version Flint Incorporation English page version   Русская версия страницы   
Главная страница
Новости
Программы
О проекте
Связь с автором

Библиотека значков для Total Commander XPStyle

Скриншот

Total Commander позволяет настраивать свой внешний вид при помощи дополнительных библиотек значков. Этот файловый менеджер предназначен для работы во всех версиях Windows, начиная с Win95, и поэтому вплоть до версий 6.5x в нём присутствовали только 16-цветные значки. Они корректно отображаются во всех версиях Windows, но на фоне интерфейса современных версий операционных систем они смотрятся довольно невзрачно. (Начиная с седьмой версии TC наконец-то поставляется с обновлёнными многоцветными значками.) Пакет XPStyle содержит библиотеку изображений, взятых из Windows XP и адаптированных для использования в Total Commander.

Пакет состоит из двух файлов: библиотека ICL, содержащая значки для отображения различных типов файлов и папок, и файл DLL с картинками, использующимися на кнопках дисков. Все значки в библиотеке ICL являются 32-битными, с альфа-каналом прозрачности, что даёт очень качественные изображения на любом фоне. Однако значки с альфа-каналом поддерживаются только в последних версиях Windows — XP и новее. Во всех предыдущих версиях вместо полупрозрачной тени будет видна толстая чёрная кайма вокруг изображения.

Разумеется, я не первый, кому пришла в голову эта идея, уже на момент создания пакета существовало несколько аналогичных библиотек. Однако все они на мой взгляд имеют различные недостатки. В некоторых присутствуют только значки 16x16, в результате в режиме 32x32 работать невозможно (некоторые из значков растягиваются до этого размера, что выглядит ужасно, а некоторые попросту не отображаются). В других неаккуратно проведено редактирование изображений или приведение их к меньшей цветности, в результате чего вокруг изображений появлялись "зубчики" или чёрная каёмка. В некоторых библиотеках сами значки попросту неудачно подобраны, не соответствуют общему стилю или тому, что они должны изображать. (Хотя, повторюсь, это всё на мой взгляд. Вкусы у людей различаются, и многие используют эти библиотечки, и вполне довольны.) Поэтому я решил собрать свой вариант, на свой вкус. За основу, конечно, были взяты оригинальные значки Windows XP — одни были оставлены как есть, другие немного подредактированы.

В связи с многочисленными просьбами я выкладываю также библиотеку XPStyle TC, отличающуюся от XPStyle тем, что значок главного окна в ней оставлен стандартным — в виде красно-синей дискетки. Среди пользователей набора оказалось немало таких, кому набор в целом понравился, но голубой шарик оказался слишком уж непривычным.

Пакет Версия Размер Скачать
XPStyle 1.0 26 990 байтов Скачать
XPStyle TC 1.0 18 596 байтов Скачать